HK to get visa-free entry to EU by May


The European Union (EU) announced on Friday that from May Hong Kong passport holders will no longer need to apply for a visa to travel to any of the 15 European Union countries for stays of less than three months. There are at least 1.35 million Hong Kong passport holders in the territory who already enjoy visa-free access to some 70 countries, including Britain and Ireland, both members of the EU.

The new arrangement extends visa-free entry to the other 13 EU members, and the EU said it would include visits to two non-member countries — Iceland and Norway. A spokesman for the EU in Hong Kong said at least three Eastern European countries — Hungary, Poland and the Czech Republic — would also soon grant visa-free entry to Hong Kong passport holders.