Taiwan baseballers to compete in int’l competitions


A team of young baseball players from Tainan, southern Taiwan, departed yesterday for mainland China to take part in the 2002 U.S. Bronco Asia Pacific Zone Tournament slated to begin in Beijing Saturday.

The players are all students aged 11 and 12 from Tainan City’s Li Jen, Tsung Hsueh and An Ching primary schools.

They will square off in their first game against the mainland team Saturday. The Taiwan team will then take on the Japanese Sunday and challenge the South Koreans next Monday, according to a spokesman for the Chinese Taipei Amateur Baseball Association.

If the 14-member Tainan team wins the title at the event, it will proceed to the United States to compete in the Bronco World Championship scheduled to begin in Monterey, California Aug. 7, the spokesman said.

Meanwhile, the Chinese Taipei Triple-A team is scheduled to arrive in Canada at the end of July to take part in the 20th AAA World Junior Baseball Championship slated to open in Sherbrooke, Quebec Aug. 1.

A total of 12 national teams will compete in the championship, which will be divided into two divisions for the 10-day competition.

The Chinese Taipei players, aged below 18 and in Division A, are scheduled to meet the Italian team Aug. 2, followed by games against Panama, the Netherlands, Cuba and Canada on Aug. 3, 4, 5 and 6, respectively.

The six other national teams in Division B are from the United States, South Korea, Venezuela, Australia, Brazil and Spain.

The best three from both divisions will then go to the semifinals to decide an overall champion.

In related news, a youth team from Chiang Mei Primary School in Penghu County won the championship of the Second Asian Cup Little League Championship Wednesday held in Wuxi of mainland China’s Jiangsu Province, according to the Chinese Taipei Amateur Baseball Association. The championship was sponsored by the Baseball Federation in Asia.

Meanwhile, the Second Asian Senior Little League Baseball Tournament kicked off Wednesday at Taipei’s Tienmu Baseball Stadium.

, with six teams representing Japan, South Korea, the Philippines, Indonesia, Hong Kong and the Chinese Taipei competing for the title.

Chinese Taipei beat Japan 3-0 in the opening game Wednesday and will play South Korea Friday.

The semifinals are on Saturday with the final being held on Sunday.