Phelps earns two more wins in Minnesota Grand Prix


MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota — Michael Phelps, the most decorated Olympian in history, continued his preparation for the London 2012 Games with two more victories Saturday at the Minnesota Grand Prix. The 14-time Olympic gold medal winner won the 200-meter butterfly and the 100-meter backstroke at the University of Minnesota pool. Phelps dominated in the 200-meter butterfly finishing in a time of one minute, 56.12 seconds. China’s Wu Peng was second in 1:57.67 and Scott Clary placed third in 1:59.63. Phelps also won the 100-meter backstroke in a time of 53.71 to go with wins in the 200 freestyle and 100 butterfly on Friday. He beat out runner-up David Plummer (53.87) in the 100 backstroke on Saturday.

The 26-year-old American is the world record-holder in the 100 butterfly. Six-time Olympic medalist Ryan Lochte finished fourth in the 100 backstroke with a time of 55.80. On the women’s side, Kathleen Hersey captured the 200 butterfly in 2:09.84, finishing ahead of Allison Schmitt (2:11.26). Amanda Weir beat a strong field in the 50 freestyle touching the wall in 25.04 seconds. Jessica Hardy (25.10) finished second while 44-year-old Dara Torres and Kara Lynn Joyce tied for third with a time of 25.30. Torres is trying to qualify for her sixth Olympics. Allison Schmitt won her second event of the three-day event, taking the 400 freestyle in 4:07.78. Olympian Schmitt won the 200 freestyle Friday. The Minnesota Grand Prix is the first of seven stops this season on USA Swimming’s Grand Prix series.