Jose Fernandez wins Rookie of the Year over Yasiel Puig

The Sports Xchange/Reuters

In a showdown between two Cuban defectors, Miami Marlins right-hander Jose Fernandez won the National League Rookie of the Year award, topping Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Yasiel Puig in the voting. Tampa Bay Rays right fielder Wil Myers did not arrive in the majors until June, but that did not prevent him from winning American League Rookie of the Year honors. In the NL voting by members of the Baseball Writers Association of America, Fernandez received 26 first-place votes. Puig, the runner-up, garnered the other four first-place votes. St. Louis Cardinals right-hander Shelby Miller finished third. Myers, 22, also was a runaway winner, earning 23 of 30 first-place votes. Detroit Tigers shortstop Jose Iglesias, who received five first-place votes, placed second. Rays right-hander Chris Archer finished third, getting one first-place vote. In free agent markets, Texas Rangers outfielder Nelson Cruz is one of 13 veterans expected to reject one-year, US$14.1 million qualifying offers. New York Yankees outfielder Curtis Granderson and Seattle Mariners first baseman Kendrys Morales turned down offers. Around the league, the Minnesota Twins announced that All-Star catcher Joe Mauer will transition to first base beginning next season. Mauer, who has sustained concussions and other injuries during his career, is making the move to decrease chances of future injuries.

Meanwhile, the Atlanta Braves will move into a new ballpark in Cobb County, Georgia, starting in 2017, the team announced.