S. Korea advises against traveling to Taiwan and 5 Asian countries

A woman passes by a poster about precautions against a new coronavirus at a subway station in Seoul, South Korea, Thursday, Feb. 6, 2020. (AP Photo/Ahn Young-joon)

TAIPEI (The China Post) — The South Korean government has advised its nationals to refrain from traveling to Taiwan, and five other Asian countries in addition to China, in light of the novel coronavirus outbreak.

The other countries are Malaysia, Singapore, Japan, Thailand and Vietnam, the Korean news agency Yonhap reported on Tuesday (Feb 11).

“The measure is part of efforts to prevent the inflow of the novel coronavirus into the country through a third nation,” Kim Gang-lip, deputy head of the central disaster headquarters, was quoted as saying during a regular press briefing.

As of press time, it is not known if the country will also ban travelers arriving from these countries.