Tigerair Taiwan announces major flight cuts as pandemic surges

(CNA file photo)
(CNA file photo)

TAIPEI (CNA) — Tigerair Taiwan announced massive flight cuts in the wake of the escalating global novel coronavirus pandemic on Tuesday, when Taiwan extended its highest Level 3 travel alert to cover virtually all of Asia and Europe and three states in the United States.

The airline said that from March 18 to April 30, it will cancel all flights between Taiwan, Tokyo Narita and Osaka, except for Taoyuan-Narita flights IT200, IT201 and Taoyuan-Osaka flights IT210, IT211.

Its Taoyuan-Fukuoka flights IT240, IT241 and Taoyuan-Okinawa flights IT232, IT233 will operate as normal on Wednesday, while all other flights with the two Japanese destinations will be canceled from March 19 to April 30.

Meanwhile, the budget carrier said, it is canceling all other flights between Taiwan, Japan and Thailand from March 18 to April 30, in addition to the current suspension of flights to South Korea, Macau and the Philippines.

Taiwanese startup airline StarLux Airlines, which started operations on Jan. 23 and has been forced to suspend flights with Macau and Penang, said it is also considering cutting its only remaining Taoyuan-Da Nang route.

Although a final decision has not been made, the carrier said it has already suspended daily flights to the destination for March 18, 22, 26, 27, 29 and 31 due to low market demand.

EVA Airways said it will try to keep its flight schedule normal and adjust it based on market demand and available manpower. It has suggested passengers check flight availability on https://booking.evaair.com/flyeva/EVA/B2C/flight-status.aspx

Likewise, China Airlines passengers are advised to visit https://news.china-airlines.com/emer_area/info_en.aspx for the latest flight information.

Following the Taiwanese government’s updated travel alert, 99 countries and regions have been given Level 3 alerts, meaning travelers who arrive in Taiwan after spending time in those places or transferring through them are required to quarantine themselves for 14 days.

All Asian countries along with Hong Kong and Macau and all European countries, with the exception of the micro-states of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican, have been given Level 3 alerts.

The highest warning level also covers the states of California, Washington and New York in the United States, and the northern African countries of Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Algeria and Morocco.