Wrongful designation of Taiwan cities in climate forum corrected

Six Taiwan municipalities listed again under the generic term 'Chinese Taipei'

TAIPEI (The China Post/ANN) — Organizers of the “Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy” (GCoM) corrected the technical error that resulted in listing six Taiwan cities as being part of China, according to a press statement released Monday by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA, 外交部).

As of press time, the six Taiwan municipalities are listed again under the generic term “Chinese Taipei” — a name used in some international organizations and competitions for the Republic of China/ Taiwan — for their country name.

Taiwan authorities are pleased with the result one day after the six cities issued a joint letter to the GCoM requesting that it “immediately fix the website and change the registered names of our cities back to the originally registered nationality.”

The MOFA also asked its representative office in Brussels on Sunday to correct the country classification of the six Taiwanese cities based on the membership application forms they filed.

The six Taiwan cities that joined the GCoM — Taipei, New Taipei, Taoyuan, Taichung, Tainan, and Kaohsiung — were suddenly listed under the country classification of “China” on the GCoM’s website, even though Taiwan is not part of the People’s Republic of China.

Following the successful conclusion of the controversy, the central government said that it will continue to stand with local governments in the global fight against climate change.